Traditional Indian Curry

My 365 day no spending challenge has always been about discovering what matters and gaining a new sense of ‘community’ and what it means – this is my sole motivation every time I want to buy something which, surprisingly , isn’t very often.

So, when I realised a had a friend who has always been there for me(!) was now herself in need of lifting up it made me question the rational for my challenge. I wanted to do something nice for her. Something special. I thought about it a lot and what I could do and, in this instance, instead of not spending, I took her out for dinner at a lovely local Indian restaurant* and paid for us both.

On the one hand this is the opposite of the objective of my challenge.

On the other, however, it is everything my challenge stands for. In exchange for paying for dinner I got a lovely evening with a wonderful friend. We caught up. We laughed. We had quality time together.

More importantly I got to make someone feel happy. That is priceless.

That is what this is all about surely?!

And yes, I’m not going to lie, it was amazing(!) to have a meal out especially as this was the first solid meal I’d eaten since breaking my nose and this was of course an added bonus but this was special circumstances and this challenge has made me realise I wouldn’t just do this on a whim anymore. I now more greatly appreciate this experience and what it can mean. Also what is the point in not spending and having the money I would have wasted in previous years sit doing nothing when it could make someone I care for feel good?!

Think about it….can you make someone smile today?  

#happiness4less

*the restaurant we were in was Tabla – who, incidentally, do gluten free curry! And pakora! Yum!

Perth’s only Authentic Indian Restaurant. Owned and run by Praveen Kumar and his wife Swarna Kumar, both born and brought up in small rural communities in south India. At Tabla we use fresh, farm grown spices by own family in India. Praveen has gained great wealth of Food and Restaurant management skills from The Gleneagles Hotel & Turnburry Hotel, where we workedover 6 years. Tabla is well presented restaurant with stone walls and open kitchen. You’ll find cheerful and well attentive staff to exceed your dining expectations.

Published by

Fi Munro

I am a 31 year old woman diagnosed with stage four ovarian cancer. I blog about my cancer journey and the importance of maintaining holistic physical, emotional and spiritual health. I also talk about the importance of eating the right food...a lot! Get in touch on twitter: @fkmunro

One thought on “Traditional Indian Curry”

Leave a Reply

